Covid-19: Suspension of international flights extended till Sept. 30 due to the rising Delta variant cases

Suspension of International flights extended except on cargo flights and flights allowed by the DGCA.

On Sunday, the Centre extended the suspension of international flights to India till September 30 to check the spread of COVID-19. The Indian government banned International commercial flights since March 23, 2020, after the pandemic breakout.

 This eased the restrictions on flights in countries India had an air bubble agreement during the last year.

The air bubble agreement between the two countries allows special international flyings to be operated by their airlines between their territories. India has formed this pact with around 25 countries, including the United States, the United Kingdom, and Germany.

At present, India has bilateral agreements with Bahrain, Afghanistan, Bhutan, Bangladesh, Ethiopia, Canada, Germany, France, Japan, Iraq, Kuwait, Kenya, Nepal, the Maldives, the United Arab Emirates, Nigeria, the Netherlands, Qatar, Oman, Rwanda, Russia, Seychelles, Tanzania, Sri Lanka, Ukraine Uzbekistan, the UK, and the US.

Earlier, the government wanted to lift the restrictions from August 31. However, the ban was extended due to fear of the third wave and the rise in Delta variant cases. Despite the limits, India allows the operation of certain international flights to deport stranded citizens.

Covid-19: British Airways to operate flights from Chennai to London

British Airways will operate direct flights from Chennai to London from August 31 in some good news amongst the ban. The airline will continue to operate from London’s Heathrow airport and Chennai thrice a week on Sunday, Wednesday, and Friday from London and Monday, Thursday, and Saturday from Chennai on its return leg.

British Airways has extended flights from India to the UK from 10 to 20 per week from August 16. The arrangement came as the UK parliament moved India to an amber list.

Saudi Arabia bans many countries including India

Saudi Arabia recently introduced one of the most stringent rules and penalties to check the spread of COVID-19. As per an HT report, the Saudi Arab government would impose a three-year travel ban and hefty penalties on those who visit the Red List countries. The list includes India, the UAE, Syria, Afghanistan, Belarus, Venezuela, Vietnam, Libya, Yemen, Lebanon, Turkey, Iran, Armenia, Somalia, Ethiopia, and Congo.

Show More
Back to top button