2022 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup prize money to zoom 75%

The winner of the 2022 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup, starting on March 4, will take home US$ 1.32 mn as prize money

In what could be seen as a major recognition for the women cricketers competing in matches at the international level, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has doubled the overall prize money for the winners of the 2022 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup, compared with that given away during the previous edition in 2017.

This means that the winner of the 2022 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup, which is to get underway across six venues in New Zealand starting this March 4, will be able to take home US$ 1.32 million. The final will be played at Hagley Oval in Christchurch on April 3.

Overall prize money up 75%

The overall prize money will also see a major jump, of around 75 percent. In 2017, the winner England who beat India to win the tournament had taken home US$ 660,000.

As per the new decision, the eight teams participating in the 2022 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup will be able to pocket a share of US$ 3.5 million. This is in fact US$ 1.5 million more than what the teams took home after the previous edition.

Prize money to the tune of US$ 600,000 will be won by the runners up in the upcoming tournament in New Zealand. This amount calculates as US$ 270,000 more than what the 2017 runners up India had won in 2017 at Lord’s.

Meanwhile, the two teams that end up as losing semi-finalists will be given away US$ 300,000 each. Further, the four teams who would be out after the group stages of the tournament will get US$ 70,000, compared with the US$ 30,000 prize money handed out during the previous edition of the Women’s Cricket World Cup tourney.

New Zealand plays host for 2022 edition

The International Cricket Council has also listed out that the group stage winners will be given away US$ 25,000 per win, from a total earmarked amount of US$ 700,000.

It may be noted that the International Cricket Council had been upping the prize money over the past few editions of the tournament. The 2013 and the 2017 editions of the Women’s Cricket World Cup saw the prize money rising 10-fold – from US$ 200,000 to US$ 2 million.

New Zealand is gearing up for the 2022 edition of the Women’s Cricket World Cup, with 28 group stages matches scheduled to be played. The format would be round-robin, and each team will compete with each other once. Four teams with the maximum points will move to the semis.

The ICC has set the stage for the tournament, with six venues getting ready for the competitions.

Sanjeev Ramachandran

A journalist with 23 years of experience, Sanjeev has worked with reputed media houses such as Business Standard, The Ne More »
Back to top button