Shoaib Malik to play his sixth T20 World Cup for Pakistan

The star all-round cricketer Shoaib Malik has been included in the Pakistan T20 World Cup 2021 squad as a replacement for Sohaib Maqsood, who picked up back injury recently.

What comes as a blessing in disguise for Pakistan’s star all-rounder Shoaib Malik, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Saturday officially included him in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 squad as a replacement for Sohaib Maqsood.

Sohaib Maqsood has been ruled out of the T20 World Cup due to a lower back injury.

Sohaib received MRI tests on his lower back on Thursday after suffering an injury during the October 6 match against the Northern and missed the October 7 match against Central Punjab as a result.

Sohaib is sad to lose out on the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, since he had prepared hard for this event and was in brilliant form, chief selector Muhammad Wasim said.

While sympathizing with Maqsood, he said injuries are unavoidable in sports. Mr Wasim said that he is confident that following rehabilitation, Maqsood will be totally fit and ready for future assignments.

Shoaib Malik’s inclusion significant

The PCB has now decided to include Shoaib Malik in the side in his place, following negotiations with the team management. Malik’s experience is expected to benefit the entire team.

Shoaib Malik led the Pakistan cricket team to victory in the first championship in 2007 and was a member of the winning team in 2009. After missing the 2010 West Indies event, he participated in 2012, 2014, and 2016 editions.

On October 15, the Pakistani team for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 will fly to Dubai, United Arab Emirates. On the 18th and 20th of October, they will play two warm-up matches against the West Indies and South Africa, respectively, before facing India in a Group-2 game on the 24th of October at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

Pakistan squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021

Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Shaheen Shah Afridi and Shoaib Malik.

Show More
Back to top button