Lok Sabha Elections Phase 6: Over 11 Crore Voters to Decide Fate of 889 Candidates Across 58 Seats

Early Voting by Key Political Figures Sets Tone for High-Stakes Penultimate Phase.

Sees Prominent Voters and Candidates Amidst Over 10.82% Turnout by 9 AM

New Delhi , 25 May 2024: As the penultimate phase of the Lok Sabha elections commenced today, significant figures, including President Droupadi Murmu and External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar, were among the early voters. The sixth phase covers 58 seats across six states and two Union Territories, with over 11 crore voters deciding the fate of 889 candidates. By 9 AM, the voter turnout had reached 10.82%, with West Bengal leading at 16.54% and Delhi recording 8.94%.

Among the prominent candidates in this phase are Union ministers Dharmendra Pradhan and Rao Inderjit Singh, BJP’s Maneka Gandhi, Sambit Patra, Manohar Khattar, and Manoj Tiwari, as well as Mehbooba Mufti and Congress’s Kanhaiya Kumar.

President Murmu, cricketer-turned-politician Gautam Gambhir, Sonia Gandhi, and Rahul Gandhi were also early voters, emphasizing the importance of exercising one’s democratic rights. Rahul Gandhi, after casting his vote, addressed the nation on social media platform X, urging citizens to participate actively in this crucial phase. He wrote:


In the first five phases of voting, you have rejected lies, hatred, and propaganda and given priority to the ground level issues related to your lives.

Today is the 6th phase of polling and your every vote will ensure that:

  • Recruitment for 30 lakh vacant government posts for the youth and starting of the first job guarantee scheme of Rs 1 lakh per year.
  • Rs 8,500 per month started coming into the accounts of women from poor families.
  • Farmers should be debt free and they should get fair MSP on their crops.
  • Workers should get daily wages of Rs 400.

Your vote will not only improve your life but will also protect democracy and the Constitution. Mother and I contributed to this great festival of democracy by casting our votes. All of you also come out of your homes in large numbers and vote for your rights and the future of your family.”

In addition to the Lok Sabha seats, some assembly seats in Odisha and parliamentary constituencies in West Bengal are also voting today. Polling for the Anantnag-Rajouri seat in Jammu and Kashmir, postponed from phase three due to adverse weather conditions, is also underway.

Lok Sabha Elections Phase 6: Over 11 Crore Voters to Decide Fate of 889 Candidates Across 58 Seats
Voters in Queue in Punj J&K

Controversies have marked the day, with PDP chief Mehbooba Mufti alleging that party workers were detained during the polling for the Anantnag-Rajouri seat. The Jammu & Kashmir police clarified that the detentions were minimal and based on credible threats to law and order, ensuring a safe and peaceful election. “Mostly they are OGWs (over ground workers) and are taken into preventive custody for ensuring a safe and peaceful election,” an official stated.

Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge urged voters to cast their ballots against the “politics of hatred, rhetoric, and distraction,” claiming that the dictatorial forces were deeply shaken by the previous five phases. Meanwhile, Delhi Minister and AAP leader Atishi accused Lieutenant Governor V.K. Saxena of instructing the Delhi Police to slow down the voting process in areas strong for the INDIA bloc. “If this happens, then it will be a violation of free and fair elections,” she alleged after casting her vote in New Delhi’s Kalkaji area.

The final phase of voting is scheduled for June 1, with counting of votes set for June 4.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button