Phase 7 of Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Sees 11.31% Voter Turnout by 9 AM

Key battles include Kangana Ranaut's debut in Himachal Pradesh and PM Modi seeking re-election from Varanasi..

New Delhi, May 2024 – As the seventh phase of the Lok Sabha elections kicked off, the Election Commission’s (EC) voter-turnout app reported an approximate polling percentage of 11.31% by 9 AM. Voters in 57 constituencies across eight states and Union territories are casting their votes today.

Voting Across Key States

Polling is being conducted on 13 seats each in Punjab and Uttar Pradesh, nine seats in West Bengal, eight in Bihar, six in Odisha, all four seats in Himachal Pradesh, three seats in Jharkhand, and one seat in Chandigarh.

Notable Contests

  • Himachal Pradesh’s Mandi: BJP’s Kangana Ranaut makes her electoral debut, facing Vikramaditya Singh of Congress.
  • Chandigarh: BJP’s Sanjay Tandon stands against Congress nominee and former Union minister Manish Tewari, who is backed by AAP.
  • Bihar’s Pataliputra: RJD’s Misa Bharti, Lalu Prasad Yadav’s eldest daughter, is contesting against BJP’s Ram Kripal Yadav, a two-time winner who joined the party ahead of the 2014 Lok Sabha polls.

Polling Statistics

As of 9 AM, Himachal Pradesh leads with a voter turnout of 14.35%, while Odisha recorded the lowest at 7.69%. Uttar Pradesh follows closely with a turnout of 12.94%.

Campaign Highlights

The campaigning for this phase concluded on Thursday, marked by massive rallies held by top leaders across the country. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, seeking his third re-election from Varanasi, is one of the most high-profile candidates in this phase.

Key Candidates

  • BJP: Apart from PM Modi, notable candidates include Union Minister Anurag Thakur from Himachal Pradesh’s Hamirpur, Ravi Shankar Prasad from Bihar’s Patna Sahib, and actor Kangana Ranaut from Himachal Pradesh’s Mandi.
  • Congress: Manish Tewari from Chandigarh, Vikramaditya Singh from Himachal Pradesh’s Mandi, and Ajay Rai from Varanasi.
  • Trinamool Congress: Mamata Banerjee’s nephew, Abhishek Banerjee, is contesting from Diamond Harbour.

Election Logistics

The Election Commission of India has made adequate arrangements for polling in this seventh phase. Voting has been held on 486 Lok Sabha seats in the previous six phases. The turnout in the first six phases was 66.14%, 66.71%, 65.68%, 69.16%, 62.2%, and 63.36%, respectively, an overall low compared to 2019.


With a total of 904 candidates contesting in this phase, the election results from these key constituencies are highly anticipated. As the day progresses, the voter turnout is expected to rise, reflecting the democratic spirit of the nation.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button