Maharashtra Gymnast Aaryan Davande wins Boys Artistic All-Round Gold

Defending champions Maharashtra opened their gold medal account at the Khelo India Youth Games 2023 on Monday when gymnast Aaryan Davande clinched the Artistic All-Round crown at the SDAT Aquatics complex here.

Aaryan Davande accumulated a total of 73.200 points to pip Uttar Pradesh’s Pranav Mishra (72.470 pts) to the top spot. Harshit of UP clinched the bronze with a score of 71.700 points in the event where the boys had to perform on six different apparatus to decide the winner.

The gold medal helped Maharashtra jump to third place in the overall standings with a total of 10 medals, including four silver and six bronze.

Host Tamil Nadu continued to top the medal chart with five gold medals. Cyclist J Srimathi added a gold to the state’s tally in Girl’s Time Trial at the TNPESU Velodrome with a timing of 39.752 while her state-mate R Tamilara bagged the bronze medal with a time of 41.028. Rajasthan’s Vimla took home the silver.

In the Boys Time Trial, Telangana’s Aashirwad Saxena clinched the gold medal with a timing of 1:12.652s with Maharashtra’s Vedant Jadhav (1:13.362s) and Haryana’s Gurmoor Poonia (1:14.192s) bagging the silver and bronze respectively.

Elsewhere, at the Nehru Park squash courts, girls top seed Pooja Arthi stormed into the individual final with a facile 11-5, 11-4, 11-5 win over state-mate Deepika V.

In hockey competition, Haryana and Odisha booked their semi-final berths in the girl’s category from Group B with two wins apiece while Madhya Pradesh assured themselves a spot in the last four stage with a 1-0 win over Chhattisgarh.

Photo caption: Maharashtra gymnast Aaryan Davande in action on the Horizontal Bar during the Artistic All-Round competition at SDAT Aquatics Complex, in Chennai, on Monday. Aaryan Davande won the gold medal with a score of 73.200 points.

Medal Tally:

Results (Till 5 pm)


Girls: Group B: Chhattisgarh bt Uttar Pradesh 81-50;

Boys: Group A: Punjab bt Mizoram 105-66; Uttar Pradesh bt Madhya Pradesh 106-83


Girls: Time Trial (500m): Gold – J Srimathi (TN) 39.752; Silver – Vimla (Raj) 40.211; Bronze – R Tamilarasi 41.028

Team Sprint: Gold – Tamil Nadu 1:20.036; Silver – Rajasthan 1:20.528; Bronze – Maharashtra 1:20.814

Boys: Time Trial (1km): Gold – Aashirwad Saxena (Tel) 1:12.652; Silver – Vedant Jadhav (Mah) 1:13.362; Bronze – Gurmoor Poonia (Har) 1:14.192

Team Sprint: Gold – Kerala 1:09.856; Silver – Maharashtra 1:10.434; Bronze – Tamil Nadu 1:11.156


Boys: Artistic All-Round: Gold – Aaryan Davande (Mah) 73.200; Silver – Pranav Mishra (UP) 72.470; Bronze – Harshit D (UP) 71.700


Girls: Group A: Madhya Pradesh bt Chhattisgarh 1-0; Mizoram bt Tamil Nadu 7-0

Group B: Haryana bt Jharkhand 4-3; Odisha bt Punjab 2-0

Boys: Group A: Punjab bt Tamil Nadu 2-1


Girls Individual (semi-finals): 1-Pooja Arthi R (TN) beat Deepika V (TN) 11-5, 11-4, 11-5

Girls Team (quarterfinals): Tamil Nadu bt Bihar 3-0; Rajasthan bt Kerala 3-0; Uttar Pradesh bt Uttarakhand 3-0; Maharashtra beat Karnataka 3-0

Boys Individual (semi-finals): Tanveet Singh Mund (MP) beat Sarvesh Pr (TN)  11-6, 10-12, 12-14, 11-8, 11-6;

Boys Team (quarterfinals): Tamil Nadu bt Manipur 3-0; Assam bt Kerala 2-1; Rajasthan bt Maharashtra 3-0; Uttar Pradesh bt Chhattisgarh 3-0

Disclaimer:This is an official press release by Pib.

Digpu News Staff

Stay tuned to read latest updates and news from all around the world.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button